Fosi Vegue
Talavera (Toledo)

In 1942, Alfred Hitchcok’s Rear Window glorified our fascination with peeping through the neighbours’ windows. Over half a century later, our beloved junk TV has accustomed us to the basic idea behind the reality show: to make a spectacle of ALL the details of our lives and those of others, pushing us to take part in a visual orgy in which absolutely EVERYTHING is on show.

Sheltered by the darkness, Fosi Vegue observes the events unfolding through the windows of a common courtyard: rooms used by prostitutes and their clients, summer nights, blinds up to let in the breeze… XY XX (2014) is a starling update of Merry Alpern’s Dirty Windows, highlighting the exent to which post-photography blends snooping, spying and surveillance. In a challenge to desacralised ethics and prudish legislation, the picture is stolen, privacy is invaded. Throwing off the bonds that govern the legitimacy of the visible, in a kind of exacerbated voyeurism, Vegue embarks on a stark exploration of “sex as the catalyst of our instincts, our desires and our contradictions… Sex as a control system”. Passion and pleasure trigger a fusion of flesh, heat and emotions, that in XY XX is also linked to a certain code, the code of digital photography, ever-present in the attendant “noise”: pixellation and blurring hint at the inaccuracy of the webcam and the innocence of the amateur, factors which when taken as rhetorical are read as the naked truth, in real time.

(text by Joan Fontcuberta)

Photogapher member of BlankPaper collective since its creation in 2003. In 2006 he founded BlankPaper school where he is currently teacher and director.

Visit our online store

30y3 is an independent platform and archive devoted to spreading and supporting the work of contemporary photographers from Spain and beyond.

If you want to get in touch with us, please write at hola(at)30y3.com or follow us on facebooktwitter and instagram.We also send a newsletter to which you can subscribe.

Designing and coding this website was possible thanks to a grant of Ministerio de Educación, Cultura y Deporte. Web hosting is sponsored by Dinahosting.


Albert Gusi Alberto Feijoo Alberto Lizaralde Alberto Salván Aleix Plademunt Alejandro Marote Alfonso Almendros Ali Hanoon Ana Cuba Ana Galán Ana Nieto Ángel de la Rubia Anna Huix Antonio Guerra Antonio Xoubanova
Bego Antón Bubi Canal
Carla Andrade Carlos Albalá Carlos Chavarría Carlos Irijalba Carlos Sanva Cristina de Middel
Daniel Mayrit Daniel S. Álvarez Darío Martínez David Hornillos David Mocha Drew Nikonowicz
Eduardo Nave Elisa González Miralles Erik Von Frankenberg
Félix R. Cid Fosi Vegue Fran Herbello Francisco Reina
Gerardo Custance Gonzalo Puig
Ignacio Evangelista Ignacio Navas Ignasi López Íñigo Aragón Intimidad Romero Ixone Sádaba
Javier Izquierdo Javier Marquerie Thomas Jerónimo Álvarez Jesús Madriñán Jon Cazenave Jon Uriarte Jordi Ruiz Cirera Jorge Fuembuena Jorge Yeregui José Cendón José Guerrero Jose Ramón Ais Juan Carlos Martínez Juan de la Cruz Megías Juan Diego Valera Julián Barón
Laia Abril Linarejos Moreno
Manuel Fernández Manuel Fernández Marc Serra María Sánchez María Serrano Markel Redondo Marta Soul Mati Martí Matías Costa Miguel Ángel Tornero Miren Pastor
Nicolás Combarro Nophoto Nophoto
Olmo González Oscar Monzón
Pablo Castilla Paco Gómez Palíndromo Mészáros Patricia Bofill Paula Gortázar
Reinaldo Loureiro Ricardo Cases Rita Puig-Serra Costa Roc Herms Roger Guaus Román Yñán Rut Panusé
Salva López Salvi Danés
Tanit Plana Tatjana Schloer Toni Amengual Txema Salvans
Vari Caramés
Xabier Ribas
Zoé T. Vizcaíno