Common Space

Paula Gortázar

E.U. Parliament, L’Hemicycle, Strasbourg.

The European Union was created in the aftermath of the Second World War with the purpose of promoting the economic cooperation between countries, believing that making all of them economically interdependent would avoid further conflict. Since then, the Union has developed into a huge single market with the Euro as its common currency for most of its member states. What began as a purely economic union has evolved into an organisation spanning all areas, from development aid to environmental policy.

Common Space depicts the interiors of the European Parliament in Brussels and Strasbourg, an institution which, despite being little understood or liked by many citizens, is gaining a prominent role in legislating our everyday European living circumstances. In its corridors, offices and meeting rooms, these quasi-futuristic spaces reveal a dream created in the fifties; a future whose ideals have been recently put into question after the serious economic recession suffered across the continent.

EU Parliament, Brussels, Paul-Henri Spaak Building, Room 03H01.
EU Parliament, Brussels, Altiero Spinelli Hall, Security Control Entrance.
EU Parliament, Strasbourg, Louise Weiss Building, Roof Terrace.
EU Parliament, Brussels, Paul-Henri Spaak Building, Room 04B001.
EU Parliament, Strasbourg, Louise Weiss Building, Second Floor Corridor.
EU Parliament, Brussels, Altiero Spinelli Building, BIP office.
EU Parliament, Brussels, Jozsef Antall Building, Room JAN 6Q2.
EU Parliament, Strasbourg, Louise Weiss Building, Room S14.

Visit our online store

30y3 is an independent platform and archive devoted to spreading and supporting the work of contemporary photographers from Spain and beyond.

If you want to get in touch with us, please write at hola(at) or follow us on facebooktwitter and instagram.We also send a newsletter to which you can subscribe.

Designing and coding this website was possible thanks to a grant of Ministerio de Educación, Cultura y Deporte. Web hosting is sponsored by Dinahosting.


Albert Gusi Alberto Feijoo Alberto Lizaralde Alberto Salván Aleix Plademunt Alejandro Marote Alfonso Almendros Ali Hanoon Ana Cuba Ana Galán Ana Nieto Ángel de la Rubia Anna Huix Antonio Guerra Antonio Xoubanova
Bego Antón Bubi Canal
Carla Andrade Carlos Albalá Carlos Chavarría Carlos Irijalba Carlos Sanva Cristina de Middel
Daniel Mayrit Daniel S. Álvarez Darío Martínez David Hornillos David Mocha Drew Nikonowicz
Eduardo Nave Elisa González Miralles Erik Von Frankenberg
Félix R. Cid Fosi Vegue Fran Herbello Francisco Reina
Gerardo Custance Gonzalo Puig
Ignacio Evangelista Ignacio Navas Ignasi López Íñigo Aragón Intimidad Romero Ixone Sádaba
Javier Izquierdo Javier Marquerie Thomas Jerónimo Álvarez Jesús Madriñán Jon Cazenave Jon Uriarte Jordi Ruiz Cirera Jorge Fuembuena Jorge Yeregui José Cendón José Guerrero Jose Ramón Ais Juan Carlos Martínez Juan de la Cruz Megías Juan Diego Valera Julián Barón
Laia Abril Linarejos Moreno
Manuel Fernández Manuel Fernández Marc Serra María Sánchez María Serrano Markel Redondo Marta Soul Mati Martí Matías Costa Miguel Ángel Tornero Miren Pastor
Nicolás Combarro Nophoto Nophoto
Olmo González Oscar Monzón
Pablo Castilla Paco Gómez Palíndromo Mészáros Patricia Bofill Paula Gortázar
Reinaldo Loureiro Ricardo Cases Rita Puig-Serra Costa Roc Herms Roger Guaus Román Yñán Rut Panusé
Salva López Salvi Danés
Tanit Plana Tatjana Schloer Toni Amengual Txema Salvans
Vari Caramés
Xabier Ribas
Zoé T. Vizcaíno